Pleased to report that for the past two days, I’ve actually been getting some work done. With all the traveling we’ve been doing lately, then my cold, my responsibilities (such as they are) have been sorely neglected. And I’m acutely aware that once we go to Sweden later in the month, there won’t be much time for working again until, oh, September.

So now that I’m feeling better, we are home and no visitors are here, there are no longer any excuses. Nor do I need them, as it turns out I love my job, especially on days when I find out that a book I’ve helped promote ends up on the New York Times bestseller list (yippee!), and my office looks like this:

Or this:

And yes, that is a couple of guys sitting in the park playing a trumpet and a guitar. They weren’t bad, either, other than when the trumpeting individual with long dreadlocks (where are we again? Santa Cruz?) was making hooting noises into the guitar’s soundbox, I guess to tune it. That, not so nice.

Yeah. Life is good.

