We interrupt our regularly scheduled programming to bring you… nothing. Absolutely nothing. Which is exactly what I did yesterday.

Granted, I didn’t really have a choice in the matter, as even sitting at my desk for ten minutes exhausted me. But every other time I’ve been sick this year, I have had a thousand other things to do that kept me from just taking a day off and doing nothing. So the fact that I could take a sick day at all was kind of a novelty in itself.

I took a long nap, read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies (a gift from my brother, always the sweetheart), picked at some food, caught up on some emails, and listened to my mom’s other panel from Saturday’s conference. The latter was about the most ambitious thing I did all day.

Gabe came home soon afterward, bringing reinforcements from the farmacia. Once those had kicked in, we walked up to the miradouro (very… slowly…) and sat there while the sun set, reading our books, watching tourists, and flapping flies away in companionable silence. Our trip home just happened to take us by a pasteleria for a pastel de nata to warm up at home, which we ate after having more chicken soup for dinner. Today I might even move back onto solid foods… you never know.

After sleeping soundly for another 9 hours last night, I awoke with a clearer head, a deep cough in my chest, and a new mosquito bite on my forehead. But since I can now breathe through my nose (more or less), I will take that as a net gain.

Onwards and upwards…

