For the past week, I’ve had writer’s block. Normally, words clutter up my brain until there is nowhere for them to go but onto the page. Now, they just aren’t there. My next blog post has been sitting on my computer, half composed, for the better part of a week now. Even my journal entries have been sparse. It’s a very strange feeling, almost as though I’ve temporarily lost the ability to see in three dimensions. Words are how I see the world, and without them, my life becomes a lot flatter.

It’s been more than writer’s block though. It was more like life block. As the flow of words dwindled, so did my ability to sleep. I would lie down, then twitch myself awake, over and over again, until 1 or 2 in the morning. I know that isn’t desperately late, and many people (including my husband) regularly stay up til that hour or later. But I have never been one of those people. I have become a morning person, and I relish that witching time before 7 AM when the world is quiet and the day full of promise. That is when I read, write, eat, and dream, getting myself ready for the day’s responsibilities and interactions.

When I go to sleep late, I lose that morning time, and my whole day is thrown off. I fall behind on my emails, I don’t write in my journal, I don’t blog. And yes, as my pilates teacher pointed out the other day, I am a creature of strong habit. It’s what kept me sane throughout ten years of transience and travel, and still keeps me sane even now that my life is more sedentary. Call me a stick in the mud, but I hate disrupting my routine, especially for such a silly reason.

Luckily, I seem to be coming out of it. I got a full eight and a half hours of sleep last night, and feel like a million bucks for it today. I’ve written in my blog and my journal this afternoon. I’m still not sure what it was that my subconscious was working through during all those sleepless night — perhaps it was just trying to get me to stay up and watch the Olympics all night. Who knows. Whatever it was, I’m glad that it seems to have worked itself out. Perhaps now I can get my precious morning time back… and the rest of you can be entertained with my lengthy emails and blog posts once again.

