As it turns out, I am a big fan of marriage. From my vast experience with the thing (that being all of one month now, thank you very much), I can tell you that it’s the way to go.

In fact, now that I think about it, what bothers me when people ask me about married life is that it is such a damn huge question. To put all of these newlywed feelings into mere words is to demean the immensity of the thing. And to try not to use words that are far too much information for a polite coworker’s inquiry in the kitchen, well… that’s even worse.

How do I express to someone, even my closest friends, how huge this new reality is? Is there a way to put into words how thrilling and petrifying it is for a deeply scarred person to suddenly discover love? Can I tell my office mate that the knowledge that I will be waking up to the same back for the rest of my life is one of the greatest gifts I’ve ever received?

I’m a fairly astute individual, or so I’d like to think, and I have a feeling that I will be reeling from the immensity of it all for quite a bit longer than one month. I will continue to try to put it into words, and I will probably continue to fail. But in the meantime, take my word for it — I could really get used to this whole marriage gig.

