The title of this post does not refer to the book of the same name by Ian McEwan, although it is one of my favorites and I recommend it highly.

No, I am referring to a more karmic kind of atonement, i.e. the kind that only happens every once in a blue moon, the kind that makes you feel that life really does achieve balance once in a while.

By the end of July, I will have seen three of my best and widely scattered friends in a one-month period, two of whom I see rarely and the third only slight more often. Spending three out of four weekends with some of the people I value most in the world is an uncommon and highly treasured gift. Thinking this, it made me wonder… why now? Why this month? It would be rare for me to see any one of these people in a month, but all three? What did I do right?

The only thing I can think of is that this month is somehow meant to atone for the terrible, heartrending July I spent by my father’s hospital bed last year. It was the second full month of my relationship, a time that was supposed to be spent in blissful honeymoon mode, eating watermelon, drinking white wine with my friends, and going to the beach. None of that happened, and I still feel slightly cheated.

This summer, I have done all of those things, and enjoyed every moment.

It’s a long shot, but perhaps things do come full circle if you just give them long enough. Or maybe I just got really, really lucky this month, and karma has nothing to do with it.

Either way, I’m glad.

