Thanks to Instapundit (my main source of news these days, since I can’t stay up til Daily Show’o’clock) and El Significant Other for pointing this one out… it’s pure genius.

Two guys are sitting on a plane. Some other guys are getting rowdy and out of hand, (understandably) frightening the paranoid post-9/11 passengers. One of the first guys, a former police officer, arranges a signal for the flight attendant to give when she wants help subduing the rowdy man.

Police Officer (ret.) looks around for someone to help him, but none of the young guys on the plane step up to the plate. He turns to the man next to him, who is also somewhat further along in life, and the guy says, “Retired Captain. USMC.”

With classic understatement, Police Officer says, “You’ll do.”

So they subdue the guys, yaay, no more crazies on the plane. USMC gets applause and some free air miles (yippee! I subdued a dangerous psycho, potentially saving a plane full of people, and all I got was a trip to Florida!), and all ends up happily ever after.

But the absolute best part of the whole story is Police Officer’s wife, who literally did not stop reading her book the entire time this was going on. She says, and I quote:

“The woman sitting in front of us was very upset and asked me how I could just sit there reading,” Katie Hayden said. “Bob’s been shot at. He’s been stabbed. He’s taken knives away. He knows how to handle those situations. I figured he would go up there and step on somebody’s neck, and that would be the end of it. I knew how that situation would end. I didn’t know how the book would end.”

Oh man. I don’t know where to start on that one! It’s simply priceless. First of all, the total faith in her husband is pretty amazing, either that or just dumb. But the fact that she was that into her book (which I believe was The Richest Man in Babylon – never read it, might have to!) is great.

I often turn to books as a form of refuge, and know many people who do the same. I totally understand this good woman’s impulse – when the world gets crazy, start reading. Keep going ’til it’s safe to look up again.

